(This space intentionally left blank.)

Apr. 21, 2003
11:30 p.m.

hint, hint (with a hint of garlic)

whenever i talk on the phone now, i try to make myself busy with something else as well, usually in the kitchen for some reason. this helps my conversation to be more of a natural reaction, cuts down on overanalyzation (yes, little lost chicken, perhaps you should try it).

slices,dices,
whirls, purls,
yes, it purees
and fences with epees,
it made me famous.

i've been reading ogden nash this evening.

i feel kind of awkward that my diary is purely about me. i mean, this may be kind of ridiculous -- after all, should i keep a diary about someone else? -- but the truth is that the diary tends to be simply transcribing my own constant internal monologue.

i was thinking about replacing "monologue" with "soliloquy", but i decided to look up the two words to see which one was more important and in one of the definitions for "monologue" i saw something that i like:

monologue
2: a long utterance by one person (especially one that prevents others from participating in the conversation)

the truth is, i think, that my own brain's constant yammering doesn't prevent people from conversing with each other; it tends to prevent me from conversing with them.

but at any rate, where was i? see, these rabbit trails, they're happening all the time. but, at any rate...

so, the point of all that is that i'm thinking about my own self on a regular basis. well, i'm thinking about other people, too, but it's in a very self-centered way, such as: "i wonder if she likes me? i wish i didn't have to come to work. i wish i were somebody else."

feh, those aren't good examples. i can never come up with good examples, and the library's closing.

i wish i had a computer. ahem.

first

read

write

roll

You are here: http://aikan.diaryland.com/030422_74.html